A password-protected directory is a folder that cannot be accessed unless the correct login details are supplied. This can be an entire website or simply one page that is located in a subfolder. If you attempt to open this kind of a directory, you'll see an Internet browser pop-up in which you will have to type a username as well as a password. In case you type the right ones, you can continue browsing the content without the need to do anything extra. When the login credentials are not correct, however, you shall see a note that you aren't permitted to look at the content. In case this feature is activated, you won't be able to open a file even when you have a direct link. The function is incredibly practical if you need to limit the access to some content or if you are developing a website and you do not want visitors to be able to access it before it is ready.

Password Protected Directories in Hosting

All of our hosting include an incredibly convenient tool which will allow you to secure any folder within your account from unauthorized access with just 2 mouse clicks. As soon as you log in to your Hepsia website hosting CP, you will just have to visit the Password Protection section, to select the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder which needs to be protected - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to enter the username and the password that must be used in order to access the content in question. The feature will be active at once, so if you make an effort to open the folder/website, you shall be prompted to enter the login information. You could set up or remove a number of usernames for the same folder, if necessary. When you go to the File Manager section, all password-protected folders will be indicated by a tiny padlock icon.